These 8 U.S. Cities Have Replaced Columbus Day With Indigenous Peoples’ Day

Read more

Throughout the years, some Latin American countries have shifted the meaning of the day used to commemorate the first meeting between Europeans and the indigenous peoples of the Americas. Día de la Raza was meant to honor Hispanic culture, which meant the focus was incorrectly framed toward colonizers instead of the indigenous people that lived there long before Columbus ever set foot in the New World. In 2002, Venezuela declared that October 12 would be known as Día de la Resistencia Indígena to celebrate those who fought to keep their cultures.

In the United States, a similar change is taking place. This year, eight cities –Albuquerque, New Mexico; Portland, Oregon; St. Paul, Minnesota; Bexar County, Texas; Anadarko, Oklahoma; Olympia, Washington; Alpena, Michigan – have phased out Columbus Day, dubbing it Indigenous Peoples’ Day instead, according to U.S. Uncut. Seattle and Minneapolis stopped celebrating Columbus Day before this year, and Oklahoma City is working toward banning the holiday.

While the U.S. still has a lot of work to do, it’s a step in the right direction. Albuquerque has New Mexico’s biggest indigenous population, and they are disproportionately affected by homelessness.

Like many people on Twitter, we are ready for Indigenous Peoples’ Day to go national.