12 New Songs to Listen to This Week From Sofía Reyes to Monsieur Periné

Lead Photo: Photo by Jussy.
Photo by Jussy.
Read more

This is our weekly compilation of bite-sized reviews of newly released songs by our talented music writers. Discover new favorites, read nuanced criticism of the week’s hottest releases, and much more. Who knows, you might walk out of this with a new fave or two. Some of the featured artists include Sofía Reyes with Beéle, Vaya Futuro, and Monsieur Periné with Bandalos Chinos. Follow our playlist featuring these tracks and more on Spotify or Apple Music.

Sofía Reyes - "Cobarde (feat. Beéle)" 

As Mexican singer-songwriter Sofía Reyes says at the end of her newest single, “Cobarde,” this is a “bachatita pal corazón.” She joined forces with Colombian artist Beéle for this radio-ready duet about a cowardly lover who expertly knew how to change into somebody unforgettable. “Cobarde” satisfyingly crescendos into an all-out bachata, anchored by Reyes’ fierce voice. The Latin Grammy-nominated artist is releasing MILAMORES — an album that’s been nearly two years in the making — on Nov. 2. — Chelsea Quezada

Monsieur Periné, Bandalos Chinos - “En La Oscuridad”

Monsieur Periné and Bandalos Chinos teamed up for “En La Oscuridad.” With rhythmic bass licks, an earworm disco-influenced beat, and motivating lyrics about overcoming depression, the new track embodies an all-around hype song to end your 2023 on a high note. Filmed at the Teatro Verdi in Buenos Aires and directed by Lautaro Furiolo, the new cinematic music video harmonizes with the song’s message about dancing your blues away. “En La Oscuridad” is part of the Colombian outfit’s newly-released deluxe edition of their recent album Bolero Apocalíptico. – Jeanette Hernandez

Verito Asprilla, Bejuco, Cerrero – “Verito de la Perla”

Colombia’s Pacific Coast is the future. The latest slice of ancestral traditions meeting cutting-edge production comes from rising rapper Verito Asprilla, who’s linked up with generational drumming ensemble Bejuco and dub producer Cerrero for an affirming personal anthem titled “Verito de la Perla.” The scrappy Tumaqueña welcomes the listener to the world of hustle and music flourishing along the Pacific, while Bejuco and Cerrero weave a tapestry of trap, dancehall, and amapiano that connects Africa with its visionary Latin American diaspora. – Richard Villegas

Jan Mercé - “333”

Back in January, Jan Mercé dropped his debut solo EP Numero1Uno, which offered an eclectic mix of old-school-tinged hip-hop, braggadocio rap, trapsoul, and more. With the goal of continuing to expand his range, this week Mercé releases “333,” a new track with nü-metal flair that gives him a whole new sandbox to play in. Over aggressive, growly bass notes, he taps into his inner rock star, waxing about the positive shift his life took when he decided to put himself first over others. It’s the kind of lyrics that would also fit within a grunge song, this time coming from a rapper who’s also showing his talents off first. — Juan J. Arroyo

Vaya Futuro - “Posesión”

Mexican band Vaya Futuro is gearing up to release their upcoming album next year, their first one since 2020’s El Peso del Mundo. And like its first preview shows, they’re switching things up this time around. “Posesión” is Vaya Futuro at its heaviest, leaning towards metal sounds and using anger as a starting point to give us a raw, earth-rumbling song from the point of view of a possessed person who’s lost all autonomy and desperately searches for a way out as they succumb to a terrifying life. – Cheky

Madi Diaz - "Same Risk"

So far in her career, Americana singer-songwriter Madi Diaz has given us some of the most heart-on-sleeve songs of this era, singing about deep feelings and insecurities out loud with a beautiful melody. This is fully on display in “Same Risk,” a song about doubts we might have when falling in love with someone and putting ourselves in the line of possible heartbreak. Diaz’s voice displays passion and vulnerability but never gets too showy, giving the lyrics gravitas. Through its soft verses and big orchestrated choruses, “Same Risk” suggests that the promise of something amazing could be worth the risk. — Marcos Hassan

Taiguerz x Raquel Sofia - “La Espina”

Last year, CDMX producer and musician trio Taiguerz channeled their collective 30 years in the music industry into their writing and composing their own material, giving us a preview of their genre-bending vision beside Motherflowers and Orestes Gomez with tracks like “Como Blanco.” Now the trio is linking up with pop songstress Raquel Sofia on their latest Afropop-influenced single, “La Espina.” Melancholic guitars and lovesick hooks unfurl in this ballad, brightened up by Sofia’s soulful vocal deliveries. – Nayeli Portillo

Seven Kayne, ROBI - "TBC"

Argentinian artist Seven Kayne enlisted fellow newcomer ROBI on his genre-bending new song “TBC.” Opening with a synth drum beat, Seven Kayne offers hints of pop, trap, and alternative rock while singing about an unsuccessful relationship. The recurring theme of love in his music — like in his recent EP buscando la luz — complements all the emotion expressed in his voice. It’s refreshing to see a rising artist with a musical point of view that is specific and stylized. — Chelsea Quezada

Geo Equihua - “Yo No Soy Guerra”

Chilanga singer-songwriter Geo Equihua has unveiled her long overdue debut EP Hágase la Oscuridad, a project where Mexican folk, pop bombast, and electronic experimentation bleed freely into one another. Equihua has been a staple of the Mexico City underground for over a decade, and the stacked EP credits include guest vocals from Daniel Zepeda of Daniel and Me Estás Pasando, and production from digital experimentalist Nnux. At the center of this quiet storm is “Yo No Soy Guerra,” a song that digs into the pain and healing unspooled across the mini album. Bitter accusations, harrowing separation, and eventual acceptance swirl over a flurry of saturated synths and bass lines while Equihua’s angelic vocals calm the seas of a troubled heart. – Richard Villegas

TodosAnimales - “No se parece”

Last year, indie alt-dreamrock band TodosAnimales released their third album, Yo sólo quiero amar en serio, which brought their talents to the group’s greatest highs yet with singles such as “Terror” and “Pasadías” showing off the range of their influences and sound. Since then, they’ve been dropping new singles at a steady clip and continue the streak this week with “No se parece.” Accompanied by a Lian Rivera-directed visualizer that channels the song’s melancholy lyrics and gloomy new wave drums. Through a POV-centric lens and jarring loop edits, we can feel the track’s emotions as they sing about the chance this scene might be their last good time together. — Juan J. Arroyo

GALEANA - “Clavos”

Galeana Fraiz Solett, simply known as GALEANA, debuts with Clavos. The Venezuelan artist’s first nine-track project is a deep dive into spirituality and human emotion. First on the tracklist is “Clavos,” a dramatic reggaeton-inspired jam with an intense delivery that showcases GALEANA’s lyrics about the loss of innocence. GALEANA does a balancing act between sensuality, sadness, and anger, which paints a stark picture that cuts deep into our chest. – Cheky

Mila La Morena - “VAMPIRA”

Chicago-based artist Mila La Morena draws influences from experimental electronic noise and clubbier, more uptempo productions. Early singles like “Cabrón” tap into smokier R&B while collaborative tracks like “FREAKYGIRL” featuring hhunter and Heartgaze embrace the act of unapologetically unleashing your wild side. On the delightfully distorted “VAMPIRA,” the artist goes into full villainess mode, tapping into the gotheir side of neoperreo by rounding out a choppy beat with devilish synths. – Nayeli Portillo