J.Balvin, Karol G & Bad Bunny Lead Premios Juventud 2020 Nominations

Lead Photo: Art by Stephany Torres for Remezcla.
Art by Stephany Torres for Remezcla.
Read more

In anticipation for this year’s Premios Juventud, Univision has revealed the nominees for its annual show.

J. Balvin leads the nominations for the 17th edition of Premios Juventud with 12 nominations, followed by Karol G (9 nominations), Bad Bunny (8 nominations), Anuel AA (7 nominations), Daddy Yankee and Manuel Turizo (5 nominations), Banda MS, Maluma, and Sebastián Yatra (4 nominations). This year’s show features 140 nominees across 28 different categories. People can vote for their favorite artist starting today and until July 21.

Now is the time to acknowledge those who are stepping up and fighting for their communities. This year, Premios Juventud’s Agents of Change award “will recognize everyday heroes of the pandemic and people leading social change.”

To reflect and consider current global issues (from the COVID-19 pandemic to the uprisings across the country due to racial injustices), Univision has reformatted past categories and added new categories.

“The new music categories are: The New Generation Female and The New Generation Male to recognize new artists who make us dance; Spicy Regional Songs to celebrate the ‘spicy’ lyrics; The Perfect Mix for the best collaboration song; The Quarantune to recognize a song created during quarantine; OMG Collaboration for an unexpected collaboration of artists; and And Featuring for an artist that everyone wants to sing with,” Univision says via a press release. Among those nominated for The New Generation Female include Cazzu, Emilia, Jessie Reyez, Mariah, and Yennis. For The New Generation Male category, those nominated include El Alfa, Jhay Cortez, Lunay, Myke Towers, and Rauw Alejandro.

“The changes in the Digital/Social/Influencer categories include: Together They Fire Up My Feed, which this year will recognize friends and not only couples that appear on each other’s’ feed; #PetGoals, artists that post with their pets; #StayAtHomeConcert to acknowledge the best at home concert; Breaking The Internet, artists who posts pictures to break the internet; and Influencer with a Cause, now with a new name, for an influencer who uses their social media platforms for a cause. In the Music Video category: Video with a Purpose, to recognize a video with the best social message. Under the Fashion category: Nailed It, to award the best and most couture manicure.”

The three-hour long show will take place live on August 13, 8PM EST, and will “follow strict guidelines and restrictions, in full compliance with local authorities and public health recommendations.” The show will be hosted by Ana Patricia Gámez, Francisa Lachapel, and Borja Voces. Prior to the main event, Jomari Goyso, Amara La Negra, and Clarissa Molina will host a one-hour pre-show at 7PM EST.