Daddy Yankee, Khalid, and More Share Solidarity Messages With DACA Recipients in New Spotify Playlist

Lead Photo: Courtesy of Spotify
Courtesy of Spotify
Read more

This morning, the Trump administration made the official announcement that the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program would be terminated. New measures will have to be taken to protect communities affected by the end of the program. One thing that is clearly indicated is vocal support for DACA recipients. Though it may not encompass every reaction to the end of DACA, Spotify’s “No Moment For Silence” playlist presents a soundtrack to listen to while processing resources for DACA recipients and finding places to protest.

For the playlist, Spotify tapped celebrities and musicians to record messages in support of DACA recipients, which appear in between tracks. Cuban-born singer and former Fifth Harmony member Camila Cabello was one of the artists who had thoughts to share on the release. “As an immigrant who came to the U.S. as a child, I know what it’s like to struggle and to never take any opportunity that came my way for granted. I stand with DREAMers, who have fought so hard to be recognized as the Americans they are.” Other artists who recorded statements of support include Juanes, Daddy Yankee, Becky G, Jared Leto, and Demi Lovato.

The playlist’s 56 tracks alternate between vehement support for those impacted by DACA and tracks from across the emotional continuum, from A Tribe Called Quest’s militant “We The People” to La Santa Cecilia’s analytic “Ice El Hielo.” Dance breaks are included (hi, “Despacito.”). The playlist drives listeners to a platform that encourages listeners to call their Congress representatives, sign a petition to support the DREAM Act, and learn more about what DACA’s termination means for recipients.

Find a rally to protest the DACA announcement here, or learn about your rights as a DACA recipient here.