The Mars Volta Return with a Sixth Studio Album, Noctourniquet

Read more

Latin Prog Rock outfit The Mars Volta officially announced yesterday the release of its sixth album, Noctourniquet, on March 27. The 13-track album will be their second under Warner Bros., following 2009’s Octahedron.

In typical TMV fashion, the album serves as a narrative tale about a protagonist much like De-Loused In The Comatorium and Frances The Mute did. This time, however, Zavala drew on less supernatural influences such as ’80s UK group The Godfathers, DC Comics character Solomon Grundy and the Greek hero Hyacinthus.

The group, led by vocalist Cedric Bixler-Zavala and guitarist/producer Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, originally debuted songs from Noctourniquet at last year’s SXSW festival but as The Omar Rodriguez Lopez Group (featuring Lars Stalfors and TMV members Juan Alderete, Deantoni Parks and Marcel Rodriguez-Lopez). It wasn’t clear if they were officially TMV songs until months later when they performed the same songs as The Mars Volta.

The news comes one week after the duo announced their reunion with Jim Ward, Paul Hinojos and Tony Hajjar of At The Drive-In. There’s no word yet on how they’re going to balance a new album, tour and a separate reunion tour but, let’s be honest, who isn’t excited over the possibility of watching both bands perform live in 2012?

Full track list:

1 – The Whip Hand
2 – Aegis
3 – Dyslexicon
4 – Empty Vessels Make The Loudest Sound
5 – The Malkin Jewel
6 – Lapochka
7 – In Absentia
8 – Imago
9 – Molochwalker
10 – Trinkets Pale Of Moon
11 – Vedamalady
12 – Noctourniquet
13 – Zed And Two Naughts