Schedule for 4th Round of World Cup Qualifiers Announced

Read more

Twitter: @AndreaGompf

We’re un pasito further down the long road toward 2014’s World Cup! Yesterday, FIFA Head of World Cup and Olympic Qualifying performed a random drawing in Miami to determine the schedule of play for the 4th and final round of CONCACAF (the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football).

The first round of matches in the CONCACAF Hexagonal round, which will begin on Wednesday, February 6th, 2013, will feature:

Mexico hosting Jamaica

Honduras hosting United States

Panama hosting Costa Rica

In the Hexagonal round, each team will play every other twice—once at home, once away—for a total of 10 matches per team, and 30 matches total between February 6 and Ocotober 15, 2013. The top three teams at the end of the Hexagonal round will automatically advance to the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil. The fourth place team will advance to an intercontinental playoff, where it will compete against the first place team from the Oceania Football Confederation in a home-and-home match-up in November of 2013.

The schedule is below:

Friday, June 7 2013
Jamaica v. U.S.
Panama v. Mexico
Costa Rica v. Honduras

Tuesday, June 11
Mexico v. Costa Rica
Honduras v. Jamaica
U.S. v. Honduras

Tuesday, June 18
Jamaica v. Mexico
U.S. v. Honduras
Costa Rica v. Panama

Friday, September 6
Mexico v. Honduras
Panama v. Jamaica
Costa Rica v. U.S.

Tuesday, September 10
Jamaica v. Costa Rica
Honduras v. Panama
U.S. v. Mexico

Friday, October 11
Mexico v. Panama
Honduras v. Costa Rica
U.S. v. Jamaica

Tuesday, October 15
Jamaica v. Honduras
Panama v. U.S.
Costa Rica v. Mexico

Get your fan gear ready, mark your calendars, and stay  tuned for round ups of the best places where you can watch the matches and root for your team!