‘Society of the Snow’ Cast & Real-Life Survivors React to Oscar Nominations

Lead Photo: Netflix
Read more

Society of the Snow (La Sociedad de la Nieve) scored two Oscar Nominations for the 96th Academy Awards Ceremony, which is set to take place on March 10th. The nominations are for Best International Feature Film and Best Makeup and Hairstyling. The movie, an adaptation of the book by Pablo Vierci, tells the story of the crash of the Uruguayan Air Force Flight 571 on the Andes in 1972. 

Sixteen people survived the crash after two men, Roberto Canessa and Nando Parrado, climbed 15,260 feet and walked for approximately 38 miles and 10 days to seek help. 

The real-life survivors and the cast reacted to Oscars nominations with jubilation, with Nando Parrado congratulating what he called “the best team.”

Survivor, Carlitos Páez, who makes a cameo in the movie as his own father, expressed his happiness while also adding that director J.A. Bayona “deserves it.”

The cast of the film also reacted to the nominations, with Agustín Pardella, who plays Nando Parrado, thanking the Academy for recognizing the “work and dedication of a lot of people.”

Simón Hempe, who plays Coche Inciarte, also posted about his “pride and excitement” at the nominations.

Likewise, real-life survivor Roberto Canessa celebrated with a post on his Instagram stories. Matias Recalt, who plays Canessa in the movie, did the same, as did Enzo Vogrincic, who plays Numa Turcatti, the narrator of the movie. 

As for the director of Society of the Snow, J.A. Bayona also shared the team’s reaction to the Oscar nomination with El Diario. He was sitting around with the team while one of them played the broadcast on their phone. When they were nominated, they all jumped up screaming.

He also shared a photo of Hempe and the real-life Coche with the caption from Hempe saying, “Es muy difícil poner en palabras lo que significa esta película. Cada vez que me senté a verla me emocioné. Me emociona el trabajo que hay detrás, y con el respeto que se logró.”

The Academy Awards are set to air on ABC on March 10th at 7 PM ET.