Who Won ‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’ Season 16 Lip Sync Smackdown?

Lead Photo: World of Wonder
World of Wonder
Read more

All eyes were on the eliminated queens of RuPaul’s Drag Race during last night’s episode. One of the five Latina drag queens that competed this season emerged victorious in the fierce Lip Sync LaLaPaRuZa Smackdown.

This week, RuPaul decided to take a detour from seeing who will take the season sixteen crown. Instead, she brought back the drag queens that were eliminated from the competition for a special Lip Sync Smackdown. The returning queens included the Latinas: Morphine Love Dion, Mirage, Megami, Geneva Karr, and Xunami Muse. They competed for a chance to win a $50,000 cash prize and the title of Queen of She Done Already Done Had Herses.

In the first round of lip-syncs, Xunami Muse and Plasma were eliminated by Mhi’ya Iman Le’Paige when the three of them performed “Milkshake” by Kelis. Morphine Love Dion then defeated Geneva Karr in a lip sync to “Million Dollar Baby” by Ava Max.

Megami and Mirage also moved onto the second round after taking down Q and Hershii LiqCour-Jeté, respectively. Mirage was originally eliminated for not knowing the words to Cher’s “Dark Lady,” so she had a strong redemption while performing Kim Petras and Nicki Minaj’s “Alone.”

During the next round of lip-syncs, Mirage and Morphine Love Dion went head-to-head to “This Time I Know It’s For Real” by Donna Summer. After Morphine Love Dion’s win, Megami defeated Amanda Tori Meating and the queen who originally sent her home, Mhi’ya Iman Le’Paige, with her comedic lip-sync style.

The final battle came down to two Latinas, Morphine Love Dion and Megami. Both queens brought down the house with their very different interpretations of “Gonna Make You Sweat (Everybody Dance Now)” by C+C Music Factory.

RuPaul announced that Morphine Love Dion won the Lip Sync LaLaPaRuZa Smackdown. She received a golden briefcase with the cash prize and became the second-ever Queen of She Done Already Done Had Herses. Next week, Nymphia Wind, Plane Jane, and Sapphira Cristál will compete for the title of America’s Next Drag Superstar in the season finale. 

RuPaul’s Drag Race airs on Friday nights at 8 p.m. on MTV.