Bomba Estéreo Caps Off a Landmark Year With a Remix Album & Unreleased Song

Read more

Bomba Estéreo’s Amanecer was released in mid-2015, but the Colombian duo’s album picked up steam this year thanks to single “Soy Yo” and its music video, starring the ridiculously cute 11-year-old actress Sarai González. Naturally, Li Saumet and Simón Mejía have plenty to celebrate, and they’re doing so by treating us with a little Christmas gift: a remix version of Amanecer. The remix album compiles reinterpretations of each song on the full-length from a crew of notable producers, including Nicola Cruz and Happy Colors. It also boasts a previously unreleased song titled “Corazón,” as well as that Big Willy-style version of “Fiesta.”

Simón Mejía and Li Saumet picked their old friend Toy Selectah to flip one of the songs for the collection of remixes. He tackled the wonderful Afro-house-inspired track “Sólo Tú” with genre-hopping abandon, flirting with cumbia, tribal, kuduro, merengue, and trap, turning the song into a dance maze you’d never want to leave. Stream the track above and check out the full track list for Amanecer Remixed below:

1. Amanecer (Omulu Remix)
2. Caderas AC (Montro Remix)
3. Somos Dos (Motiff Music Remix)
4. Soy Yo (Happy Colors Miee Remix)
5. Fiesta (Remix ft. Will Smith)
6. Voy (De La Playa Version By Simón Mejía)
7. Algo Está Cambiando (Skip & Die Remix)
8. Mar (Lo Que Siento) (Jamie Prado Remix)
9. To My Love (Tainy Remix)
10. Sólo Tú (Toy Selectah Remix)
11. Raíz (Nicola Cruz Remix)
12. Corazón

Amanecer Remixed is out December 16.