Shakira Announces New Album ‘Las Mujeres Ya No Lloran’ – Here’s What We Know

Lead Photo: Courtesy of the artist.
Courtesy of the artist.
Read more

The wait for a new Shakira album is over! Today (Feb. 15), the Colombian pop icon announced her upcoming Las Mujeres Ya No Lloran, and it’s coming sooner than we think.

Shakira first started teasing the LP’s announcement on Super Bowl day. Her website featured an image of a teardrop transforming into a diamond. Now it makes sense with her album title being Las Mujeres Ya No Lloran. It’s taken from the popular lyric “Las mujeres ya no lloran, las mujeres facturan” from last year’s global hit “BZRP Music Sessions, Vol. 53” with Bizarrap. This will mark Shakira’s first album since her split from Gerard Piqué, who reportedly cheated on her, in 2022. Her last LP, El Dorado, came out seven years ago. 

“Making this body of work has been an alchemical process,” Shakira said in a statement. “While writing each song I was rebuilding myself. While singing them, my tears transformed into diamonds, and my vulnerability into strength.”

Las Mujeres Ya No Lloran will include 16 songs in total. Shakira has already released seven of those songs. “Te Felicito” featuring Rauw Alejandro, “Monotonía” with Ozuna, and “BZRP Music Sessions, Vol. 53” will be on the album. Her other kiss-off anthem “TQG” with Karol G will also be a part of the tracklist. That song was previously released on Karol G’s No. 1 LP Mañana Será Bonito. Shakira’s ode to her children “Acróstico,” “Copa Vacía” with Manuel Turizo, and her corrido “El Jefe” feature Fuerza Regida will also appear on the album.

The cover art for Las Mujeres Ya No Lloran shows Shakira crying diamond-encrusted tears. Three more additional covers of the album are available to pre-order on CD and vinyl. The album will be released on March 22. Last year, Shakira revealed that a world tour will be happening, so expect an announcement for that soon.